To contact the Police Activities League, please call 503.823.0250

 



Although every state prohibits operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances (drugs), laws and penalties vary from state to state.  Terminology also varies in each state.  Many states use the acronym DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while impaired / intoxicated).  Other states use DUII (driving under the influence of intoxicants); OVI (operating a vehicle under the influence); OWI (operating while impaired / intoxicated); OUI (operating under the influence).  Some states have more sever charges such as an Extreme DUI if your blood alcohol concentration is quite high.  Some state have a separate charge of DWAI (driving while ability impaired) if you show impairment but your BAC is somewhere below a .08 percent.

Every state also has some form of implied consent law.  These laws typically provide for a penalty (typically a license suspension or revocation) for refusing a breath, blood, or urine test.  In many states implied consent laws also provide for a penalty for failing a breath or blood test.  A person 21 years or older fails a breath test if their blood alcohol content or BAC registers .08% or greater.  You have a right to appeal or challenge any implied consent penalty if you act within the time allotted by your state.

In most states, drunk driving is a misdemeanor crime.  However, if you have a sufficient number of prior convictions or a child in the car or someone is killed or injured, the offense may be classified as a felony crime.  Not every state has felony DUI offenses but many do.  The trend is for more and more states to increase DUI penalties.

Penalties for drunk driving vary from state to state.  Most states have imposed a variety of mandatory minimum penalties if you're convicted.  These penalties often include jail time (at least for a second conviction); fines; substance abuse treatment / classes; and a license suspension or revocation.  Any license suspension / revocation is distinct from the suspension / revocation received for failing or refusing the breath test.  Some states require you to install an ignition interlock device and / or obtain an SR-22 or FR-44 from your insurance company.


It is important to understand the laws of the state in which you're charged, because the rules and penalties in one state do not necessarily apply in another state.  Consult the directory below for information on the drunk driving laws in your particular state.

 

Alabama DUI   Alaska DUI   Arizona DUI   

Arkansas DWI   California DUI   Colorado DUI  

Connecticut DUI   Delaware DUI   Florida DUI  

Georgia DUI   Hawaii DUI   Idaho DUI  

Illinois DUI   Indiana DUI   Iowa OWI  

Kansas DUI   Kentucky DUI   Louisiana DWI  

Maine OUI   Maryland DUI   Massachusetts OUI  

Michigan OWI   Minnesota DWI   Mississippi DUI  

Missouri DWI   Montana DUI   Nebraska DWI  

Nevada DUI   New Hampshire DUI   New Jersey DWI  

New Mexico DWI   New York DWI   North Carolina DWI  

North Dakota DUI   Ohio DUI   Oklahoma DUI  

Oregon DUII   Pennsylvania DUI   Rhode Island DUI  

South Carolina DUI   South Dakota DUI   Tennessee DUI  

Texas DWI   Utah DUI   Vermont DUI   Virginia DUI  

Washington State DUI   Washington DC DWI  

West Virginia DUI   Wisconsin OWI   Wyoming DUI